Skip to content

Sena Performers International Jazz Laureate Festival

Sena Performers International Laureate Festival 2023

In 2023, the 5th edition of the Laureates event takes place, for which ‘endorsed exceptional talents’ have been selected from all parts of the world: Poland, South Africa, India, Australia, France, Italy, Lithuania, Thailand, Luxembourg, Spain, and The Netherlands. The Laureates Festival gives these young artists the opportunity to present their talent during full- length concerts, not only to a broad audience, but also to the attending international festival organizers and international press.

Theater De Lieve Vrouw Thursday 17/08 – Sunday 20/08

Click here for the full line-up.

SENA PERFORMERS International Jazz Laureate Festival

    Since 2017, the foundation JazzNL organizes the Sena Performers International Jazz Laureate Festival as a full-fledged concert program during the annual festival Rabobank Amersfoort JazzThe purpose of this event is to foster international careers by presenting and connecting finalists from World Jazz competitions worldwide. The laureates are endorsed by the festivals that attend the festival Amersfoort Jazz and its World Jazz Conference (JazzNL). The young musicians are selected by a special committee, composed of members of the international JazzNL Network. Besides performing at the festival Amersfoort Jazz, the laureates establish global connections and start meaningful collaborations through the exchange of talents. The festival enables international laureates to network with festival directors from around the globe.

    Laureates in 2020


    T.B.A. Laureate from the Dutch Jazz Competition (NLD)
    endorsed by Amersfoort Jazz festival, The Netherlands

    Kasia Pietrzko Trio (POL),
    endorsed by Szczecin Jazz Festival, Poland

    • Petra Várallyay Trio (HUN),
    endorsed by Babel Sound Jazz Fesztivál, Hungary


    Fernando Brox (ESP), w/ Broxilla,
    endorsed by Festival Jazz Cadiz, Spain

    (THA), w/ Sound of Siam,
    endorsed by Hua Hin International Jazz Festival, Thailand

    • Baturay Yarkin Trio ft. Nagme Yarkin (TUR),
    endorsed by Yeldegirmeni Spring Jazz Festival, Turkey


    Flora Carbo (AUS), w/ Origami,
    endorsed by Wangaratta, Australia

    • Keorapetse Kolwane & Daniëlla Hart (ZAF), w/ Thapelo Khumisi,
    endorsed by Joy of Jazz, South Africa

    • Laura Marti (UKR), w/ Trio Nataliya Lebedeva,
    endorsed by Leopolis Jazz Fest, Ukraine

    The Sena Performers International Jazz Laureate Festival is an initiative by Dutch music organizations JazzNL, Sena Perfomers and NTB, in alignment with Amersfoort Jazz. It relies on the commitment of international jazz & world festivals and competitions. André Le Roux, managing director of South African Music Rights Organization (SAMRO) sees this initiative as the beginning of a longlasting collaboration: “This festival creates an opportunity for our scholarship winners to make an international breakthrough.”

    Laureates in 2019

    Alex Hirlian (AUS), Wanda Baloyi (SAF),  SaXPackGirl (THA), Arthur Endo (BRA), Jason Eduwaiti (SUR), Sun-Mi Hong (KOR/NLD), Ákos Fekecs Quartet (HUN), Dmitry Ilugdin Trio (RUS), JazzBIT (ROM), Cazzip Project (TUR), Claire Parsons & Eran Har Even Duo  (LUX/ISR).

    Laureates in 2018
    Kika Sprangers (NLD), Sebastiaan van Bavel (NLD), Dock In Absolute (LUX), Jazzamboka (CAN/CON), Daahoud Salim (ESP/NLD), Darren English (SAF), Laura Perrudin (FRA), James Macaulay (AUS), Thandi Ntuli (SAF), Ivan Mazuze Quintet (NOR/MOZ), Ntando Ngcapu (SAF) and Nikolai Moiseenko (RUS).

    Laureates in 2017
    LRK Trio (RUS), Paul Jarrett Quintet (FRA), Florian Favre Trio (SUI), Zoë Modiga/Bokani Dyer/Linda Sikhakhane (SAF), Subtext (ISR), Uriel Herman (ISR), Vuma Levin Quintet (SAF), Belem (BEL), Sisters of Invention (SWE), Mihael Hrustelj Trio (SLO), AsianScolars (KOR), Dominic J. Marshall Trio (GRB), Xavi Torres Trio (ESP/NLD), Okabe Family (JAP). Young laureates from the Dutch Prinses Christina Jazz Concours: Tadiro Velzel Quartet a.k.a. ‘Hourglass’, Idemo Quintet, Fuensanta Mendez Quintet (MEX), Antisia Machneva Quartet (RUS), Teis Semey Group (DAN), Raquel Kurpershoek, Ian Cleaver, Junior Jazz Unlimited Bigband and Bigband De Pubi’s (NLD).